Skip to content

Let’s Get It Started Part II: Lots O’ Polish

September 18, 2011

So what else new did I see at Meijers that I hope you all are getting to see soon?  A lot of nail polish for one.

This is not good.  Why?

Because nail polish has become one of my major addictions.  I think because there seems to be an almost unlimited amount of nail polish colors that can be created, while generally other cosmetics stop at a certain level of crazy 😉  Before I went MIA I started swatching my nail polish on nail wheels for this blog but since the relaunch I am going to do swatches on my nails.  I have a new little point and shoot that I think can actually handle macros that my old point and shoot couldn’t and with dslr…well was just way more trouble than what it was worth!

So have all the random brands to suddenly see at Meijer… I saw this:

L.A Girl?  I’m not complaining but that is really random.  They’ve never carried L.A. Girl and I always see this brand in the most random of places.  Big Lots, The Dollar Tree, Gordmans…. Well at any rate, more crackle polish.  I don’t know how you’re feeling about crackle polish at this point but it is now very very main stream.  A couple months ago I was in Walgreens and the cosmetics girl in there and I were talking about crackle polish and she made the comment how everybody and their momma was wearing it nowadays.  And that was a couple months ago.  So now, it really is starting to seem tired to some degree.   During the whole crackle craze I only bought 2, China Glaze’s Black Mesh and Crushed Candy.  Oh wait, 3.  I also bought one of the Ice polishes one in a turquoise color.  So trying say a white or a silver crackle is rather tempting but I’m just kind of tiring of the whole crackle look to some degree.  I give L.A. Girl credit with their crackles here though, they look much more like the one’s OPI released than say, the Sally Hansen ones did.

While we’re on the topic of L.A Girl, I also spotted these:

4 sets of 5 minis, 2 bright collections and 2 glitter collections.  These are a really good deal if the brand and colors appeal to you, as the mini sets were extremely affordable.  I can’t remember the price off the top of my head, but it was only a few bucks.  When I saw these I immediately thought of them as a great little stocking stuffer for the holidays.

I then ran across this little display from Sinful Nail Color:

Plaid Chic.  To my knowledge the large bottles are not new colors, the nail art bottles however may be new for the stripers nail art collection.  My beef with Sinful is this… they have these little “collections” but they just use colors from their main collection and put them on a display in a new mixed up way.  I think Sinful could be doing crazy business if they were making new and limited edition colors.

A ton of the polish stuff I saw was Sally Hansen…

New Sally Hansen Salon Effects for Fall 2011. There's obviously something about the striped plaid look being in for fall.

Sally Hansen Salon Manicure Designer collection. I have to say that the nude shades at the bottom are really calling my name.

I felt a little thrown off at this display. The main display said "nudes and neutrals". These colors don't really embody that for me.

Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear Nail Color for Fall. This collection has been out in various places (Target, Walgreens) for a while around here. Seeing a fresh display makes me rethink about trying some colors. I love that the shades are embodying this soft metallic trend that seems to be popular this fall.

I'm not the hugest fan of the Insta-Dris but these colors for fall are really calling my name. Rich beautiful metallics! Gorgeous.

And a splash of random brands

Essie's Fall Collection. I bought the dirty pink shade and absolutely adore it.

Revlon's Carbonite. They've deemed it important enough to give it its own display. I think it is too close to shades I already own but I like the dirty-pretty of it. It works nicely in embracing the trends of the season. I've heard this is a close match to Chanel's Graphite. I don't know, I can't afford Chanel lol It also has been hard for some to find, which sucks because my Meijer has had pretty much a full display of it for a month now.

The Studio M Fall 2011 nail collection, which has been pretty much wiped clean of most of the interesting colors. Lucky for me I bought most of the interesting colors =) So since I plan to do an extensive review of those, I won't say much else about the collection at this point. But it was quite an interesting mix of shades!

I've been seeing a lot of gel polishes show up at Sally's, Ulta, etc so I was really intrigued when I saw this. A gel plish that supposedly doesn't need a UV or LED light to do what it does. I think this would be great for my toes! It's around $10 though so I've been reluctant to try, especially since all the shades are pretty basic. This may actually be one of those things that I have to hold out for a review of lol

Overall I’m pretty *swooooon* over the polishes out this fall.  And I didn’t even include the polishes attached to some other collections that I will be posting when I finish up with Part III.  The whole metallic thing happening in a lot of polishes this fall is a trend I am definitely with.  I am so relieved to see these finishes after seeing so many boring fall shades coming from higher end polish lines this summer from beauty blogger reviews.

No comments yet

Leave a comment